Workgroup
Prof. Dr. Stefan Schulz

 
  TU Braunschweig     |     Department of Life Sciences     |     Institute of Organic Chemistry      
 
Start

Prof. Dr. S. Schulz
Office

Research
Publications
Group Members
Alumni

Media

Lectures
Practical Courses
Masters Thesis
Bachelors Thesis
HiWi Positions

Legal Notice

Research

Our group is interested in Natural Product Chemistry with a focus on Chemical Communication and Chemical Ecology, the understanding of the function of natural products in their original biological systems. The research covers the identification and isolation of compounds, their stereoselective synthesis and analysis, and studies on their biosynthesis in the living organism. Most work is done in close cooperation with biologists on specific systems. The aim is to understand why nature produces such compounds and to find potential uses. Four focus areas are currently investigated, detailed below.


Chemical Communication in Arthropods

Arthropods (e. g. insects and arachnids) are well known for the widespread use of semiochemicals, compounds mediating inter- and intraspecific interactions among individuals. Such compounds occur usually in low concentrations and need organic trace analysis methods as GC/MS for their identification. Structural proposals based on mass spectra need to be verified by synthesis. Often stereochemistry is important for biological activity and therefore enantiomer synthesis and analysis, e. g. by GC on chiral phases is often necessary. Varying projects especially on spiders, butterflies and hymenoptera are investigated together with biologists from all over the world.

Bacterial Volatiles and Communication

Bacteria can produce a wealth of volatile compounds the function of which is currently only poorly understood. We aim to clarify the structural space used by the bacteria and investigate the function of these compounds. Volatiles can be collected by special methods applied by us and can be analyzed by GC/MS. Bacteria also communicate by "quorum sensing" using non-volatile compounds which are analyzed by HPLC/MSn. Target compounds are synthesized and evaluated in cooperation with biologists. A primary focus are marine bacteria as the roseobacters investigated together with a large consortium of scientists within the framework of the SFB-TRR 51 "Roseobacter", myxobacteria, and rhizobacteria.

Chemical Communication Systems in Reptiles and Amphibia

Amphibia are known to produce water soluble pheromones, e. g. peptides as pheromones. We have shown that certain frogs can communicate via volatile chemicals as well. Different compound classes as alcohols, lactones, or terpenes are used in species specific mixtures for communication by African and Madagascan frogs. Reptiles also use skin gland contents for communication although the actual function of the compounds is less well explored. Alligators and Rhyncocephalia use sometimes unique chemistry, while lizards prefer common compounds. Access to gland contents is ensured by cooperation with biologists from Berlin, Vienna, the USA, and our zoology department.

Antibiotic natural products

One part of the group carries out total syntheses and syntheses of derivatives for new natural products potentially useful as new antibiotics. The target compounds originate either from our own work or through cooperation with groups from the Helmholtz-Center of Infection Diseases in Braunschweig and the Helmholtz-Center of Pharmaceutical Research in Saarbrücken. Due to the improved sensitivity of current analytical methods isolation of target compounds becomes increasingly difficult. Therefore, total synthesis can be a tool to elucidate a structure of an unknown natural product and also gives access to material for biological investigation.

Expertise in our lab

  • Identification and synthesis of biologically active natural compounds.
  • Stereoselective synthesis.
  • Stereochemical analysis.
  • Development of microreactions useful for structure elucidation of compounds in complex mixtures.
  • Analysis of volatiles.
  • Biosynthesic studies with stable isotope precursors.
  • Mass spectrometry, GC/MS, HPLC/MSn.
  • NMR spectroscopy

Equipment

  • GC: Gas chromatography
  • HPLC: High-pressure-liquid chromatography
  • NMR: Nuclear magnetic resonance (see nmr department)
  • Agilent GC/MS systems
  • Thermo LTQ HPLC/UV/MSn
  • Flash chromatography/Light-scattering detection
  • Microbiology laboratory

letzte Aktualisierung: 14. Januar 2014

Arbeitsgruppe
Prof. Dr. Stefan Schulz

 
  TU Braunschweig     |     Fakultät für Lebenswissenschaften     |     Institut für Organische Chemie      
 
Startseite

Prof. Dr. S. Schulz
Sekretariat

Forschung
Publikationen
Mitarbeiter
Alumni

In den Medien

Vorlesungen
Praktika
Masterarbeiten
Bachelorarbeiten
HiWi-Stellen

Impressum

Forschung

Unsere Gruppe befasst sich mit Naturstoffchemie mit einem besonderen Fokus auf chemische Kommunikation und chemische Ökologie, die sich versucht die Funktion von Naturstoffen in natürlichen biologischen Systemen zu erforschen. Diese Forschung umfasst die Identifizierung und Isolierung von Verbindungen, ihre stereoselektive Synthese und Analyse sowie Studien über deren Biosynthese. Die Arbeiten werden oft interdisziplinär in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Biologen durchgeführt. Ziel ist es, zu verstehen, welche Verbindungen natürlich auftreten, warum die Natur sie produziert und potentielle Einsatzmöglichkeiten zu finden. Vier Schwerpunktbereiche werden derzeit untersucht.

Chemische Kommunikation in Arthropoden

Viele Arthropoden (z. B. Insekten oder Spinnentiere) benutzen Substanzen, sogenannte Semiochemicals, um Informationen auszutauschen und inter- und intraspezifische Interaktionen zwischen Individuen zu vermitteln. Solche Verbindungen treten in der Regel in geringen Konzentrationen auf und benötigen für ihre Identifizierung organische Spurenanalyseverfahren wie GC/MS. Strukturvorschläge werden aus Massenspektren abgeleitet und müssen durch Synthese verifiziert werden. Oft ist die Konfiguration für die biologische Aktivität sehr wichtig und daher sind enantioselektive Synthesen und Analysen, z. B. durch GC an chiralen Phasen oft notwendig. Unterschiedliche Projekte vor allem an Spinnen, Schmetterlingen und Hautflüglern werden zusammen mit Biologen aus der ganzen Welt untersucht.

Bakterielle Duftstoffe und bakterielle Kommunikation

Bakterien können eine Fülle von flüchtigen Verbindungen produzieren, deren Funktion derzeit nur schlecht verstanden ist. Wir wollen den chemischen Strukturraum der Bakterien zu klären und die Funktion dieser Verbindungen untersuchen. Flüchtigen Stoffe werden von uns durch spezielle Methoden gesammelt und mittels GC/MS analysiert. Bakterien auch durch nicht-flüchtigen Verbindungen kommunizieren, z. B. im sogenannten "Quorum Sensing". Diese Verbindungen werden durch HPLC/MSn analysiert. Auch hier müssen Strukturvorschläge synthetisiert werden und Substanzen für die Zusammenarbeit mit Biologen bereitgestellt werden. Ein Schwerpunkt sind marinen Bakterien wie Roseobacter, die zusammen mit einem großen Konsortium von Wissenschaftlern im Rahmen des von der DFG geförderten SFB-TRR 51 "Roseobacter" untersucht werden, sowie Myxobakterien und Rhizosphärenbakterien.

Chemische Kommunikationssysteme in Amphibien und Reptilien

Amphibien sind dafür bekannt, wasserlösliche Pheromone produzieren, z. B. Peptide. Wir haben gezeigt, dass bestimmte Frösche auch über flüchtige Substanzen kommunizieren können. Verschiedene Verbindungsklassen wie Alkohole, Lactone oder Terpene werden in artspezifischen Mischungen für die Kommunikation von afrikanischen oder madagassischen Frösche verwendet. Reptilienkönnen Inhaltsstoffe ihrer Hautdrüsen für die Kommunikation verwenden, deren eigentliche Funktion bisher wenig erforscht wurde. Alligatoren und Rhyncocephalia verwenden ungewöhnliche Chemie, während Eidechsen bekannte Verbindungen bevorzugen. Die Arbeiten erfogen durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Biologen aus Berlin, Wien, den USA, und unserem zoologischen Institut.

Naturstoff-Antibiotika

Ein Teil der Gruppe führt Totalsynthesen und Synthesen von Derivaten von Naturstoffen aus, die potentiell als neue Antibiotika fungieren können. Die Zielverbindungen stammen entweder aus unserer Gruppe oder werden in Zusammenarbeit mit Gruppen aus dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung in Braunschweig und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Pharmaforschung in Saarbrücken bearbeitet. Aufgrund der verbesserten Empfindlichkeit der aktuellen analytischen Methoden wird die Isolierung der Zielverbindungen zunehmend schwieriger. Daher kann die Totalsynthese ein Werkzeug sein, die Struktur eines unbekannten Naturstoffs aufzuklären und liefert zudem Zugang zu Material für biologische Untersuchungen.

Expertise in unserem Labor

  • Identifizierung und Synthese von biologisch aktiven Naturstoffen
  • Stereoselektive Synthese
  • Stereochemische Analyse
  • Entwicklung von Mikroreaktionen für die Strukturaufklärung von Verbindungen in komplexen Mischungen
  • Analyse flüchtige Stoffe
  • Biosynthese-Studien mit stabilen Isotopen
  • Massenspektrometrie, GC/MS, HPLC/MSn
  • NMR-Spektroskopie


Ausrüstung

  • GC: Gaschromatographie
  • HPLC: Hochdruck-Flüssigkeitschromatographie
  • NMR: Kernspinresonanz (siehe NMR-Abteilung)
  • Agilent GC/MS-Systeme
  • Thermo LTQ HPLC/UV/MSn
  • Flash-Chromatographie / Streulichtdetektion
  • Mikrobiologie Labor




letzte Aktualisierung: 25. April 2016